Jump to Navigation

The Herb Alpert School of Music at CalArts

Previous Visitors

Nicole Mitchell

Nicole Mitchell is a creative flutist, composer, bandleader and educator. As the founder of Black Earth Ensemble, Black Earth Strings, Ice Crystal and Sonic Projections, Mitchell has been repeatedly awarded by DownBeat Critics Poll and the Jazz Journalists Association as “Top Flutist of the Year”.


Sound sculptor, composer, engineer and inventor, Trimpin's groundbreaking work interfaces computers with acoustical instruments such as marimbas, guitars, trombones, cymbals, strings and pianos.

Rachel Rosenthal

Rachel Rosenthal is an interdisciplinary performer whose revolutionary work integrates text, movement, voice, choreography, improvisation, costume, lighting and set desgin into a “total theater” experience. She has been proclaimed "a living cultural treasure" by the City of Los Angeles.

Gregg Bendian

Percussionist and composer Gregg Bendian has performed and recorded with Nels Cline, Pat Metheny, Derek Bailey, Peter Brötzmann, Steve Hunt, Gary Lucas and Cecil Taylor.

Billy Childs

Pianist, composer and improviser Billy Childs has performed with Freddie Hubbard, Winton Marsalis, Jack DeJohnette, Ron Carter, Sting, and Yo-yo Ma, and has received commissions from the Los Angeles Symphony, the Detroit Symphony, the Kronos Quartet, and the Lincoln Center Jazz Orchestra. His honors include three Grammy awards and a Guggenheim Fellowship.

Kaoru Kakizakai

Shakuhachi master, teacher and performer Kaoru Kakizakai is the winner of the prestigious Kumamoto All-Japan Hogaku competition and has performed extensively in America, Europe, Asia and Australia. He is research fellow at the Tokyo College of Music.

Jaron Lanier

Named in 2010 as one of Time magazine’s 100 most influential people in the world, Jaron Lanier is a computer scientist, composer, artist, thinker and pioneer in “virtual reality.” A true Silicon Valley visionary, Lanier has written on numerous topics including Internet politics and the future of humanism. In 2010 Knopf published Lanier’s book You Are Not a Gadget, a Manifesto.

Roscoe Mitchell

Composer, reed and woodwind master, and one of the most revered exponents of creative musicmaking, Roscoe Mitchell is a founding member of the Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM) and the fabled Art Ensemble of Chicago. Mitchell has blazed an iconoclastic trail throughout his prolific career, inventively combining improvisation, European composition forms, African music, and jazz to forge new, often unprecedented styles of sound.

Theo Bleckmann

A collaborator with artists such as Laurie Anderson, John Zorn, Bang on a Can All-Stars, and Meredith Monk, the Grammy-nominated vocalist has given brilliant, seriously playful interpretations of material ranging from Las Vegas standards to songs by Charles Ives.

Other Recent Visitors

Composition & Performer-Composer Programs

Muhal Richard Abrams • Marcelo Aguirre • Thomas Ankersmit • Robert Ashley • Lydia Ayers • Han Bennink • Kyle Bruckman • Sylvano Bussotti • Arte Sonoro • Bang on a Can All–Stars • David Behrman • Sandeep Bhagwati • John Bischoff • Henry Brandt • Chris Brown • Gavin Bryars • Monique Buzzarte • Gary Chang • Andrew Cyrille • Degenerate Art Ensemble • Paul DeMarinis • Nick Didkovsky • Sabine Ercklentz • Mark Feldman • Jürg Frey • Fred Frith • Georg Graewe • Michael Gordon • Annie Gosfield • Gerry Hemingway • Eva Maria Houben • The Hub • Ben Johnston • Jason Kahn • Zbigneiw Karkowski • Killick • Peter Kowald • Helmut Lachenmann • Joelle Leandre • David Lang • George Lewis • Lukas Ligeti • John Lindberg • Radu Malfatti • Miya Masaoka • Mattin • Bennie Maupin • Flo Menezes • Diego Minciacchi • Lawrence D. "Butch" Morris • Torsten Müller • Andrea Neumann • Phill Niblock • Pauline Oliveros • John Oswald • Hilda Paredes • Marjorie Perloff • Larry Polansky • Eliane Radigue • Bhob Rainey • Lou Reed • Roger Reynolds • Terry Riley • Irmin Schmidt • Laetitia Sonami • Markus Stockhausen • Tara Bouman • Jean-Luc Therminarias • Jean Lamburt-Wild • Comedie de Caen • Carl Stone • Chinary Ung • David Wessell • William Winant • Trevor Wishart • Christian Wolff • Masakazu Yoshizawa • Pamela Z • John Zorn

Performance Program

Shankar Bhattachayra • Ann Baltz • Bob Becker • Boris Berman • Theo Bleckman • Elizabeth Blumenstock • Dusan Bogdanovic • Pierre Boulez • Bozzini Quartet • Phylis Bryn–Julson • Gabriele Cassone • I Nyoman Cerita • Abbie Conant • Amelia Cuni • Charles Curtis • Sand Dalton • Stuart Dempster • Bill Douglas • Anang Tokok Dwiantoro • Eve Egoyan • Ensemble Intercontemporain • Djivan Gasparyan • Sidi Goma • Mark Gould • Paul Hanson • Tom Heasley • Lorin Hollander • Yu Hongmei • Huun–Huur–Tu • K. G. Kalyanasundaram • Abhaiman Kaushal • Kitka • Nicholas Isherwood • Joan LaBarbara • Jennifer Lane • Nikola Lutz • Jonathan Mack • Brian McNeil • Michael Milenski • Andreas Mitisek • K. Munikumar • A.K.C. Natarajan • Kristin Norderval • Luiz Carlos Xavier Pinto • Elena Riu • Michael Sachs • Rohan de Saram • Irmin Schmidt • John Schneider • Stefano Scodanibbio • Lucy Shelton • Demetrius Spaneas • Carlos Eduardo Di Stasi • Vladimir Stefanovsky • Thomas Stevens • I Wayan Susila • Emiko Saraswati Susilo • Aki Takahashi • Tibetan Monks from Drepung Loseling Monastery • Hom Nath Upadhay • Vasudevan • John Wallace • Aaron Westman • Endang Sulastri Wimboprasetyo • William Winant

Jazz Program

Gabriel Alegria Afro-Peruvian Jazz Sextet • Ralph Alessi • Gregg Bendian • Ignacio Berrio • Bobby Bradford • Billy Childs • Steve Coleman • Alice Coltrane • Ravi Coltrane • Brad Dutz • Mimi Fox • Fred Hersch • John Hollenbeck • Vijay Iyer • Kneebody • Art Lande • Yusef Lateef • Kate McGarry • Mark Miller • Andy Milne and Dapp Theory • Roberta Piket • Rova Saxophone Quartet • Kenny Werner • Leni Stern

Music Technology Program

Curtis Bahn • Perry R. Cook • Robert Henke • Trimpin • Ge Wang • Matt Wright

Last edited by cziemba on Jan 11, 2017
Close Menu
Open Menu