Faculty

Clay Chaplin
Technical Director, Computer Music/Experimental Media Studios: Composition and Experimental Sound Practices
clay@calarts.edu
661-253-7816
B306

Clay Chaplin is a composer, improviser, video artist, and audio engineer from Los Angeles who explores the realms of audio-visual improvisation, sound synthesis, field recording, electronics, and computer processing for creative sonic expression. Clay has worked on many projects involving... Continue reading »

Nicholas Deyoe
Assistant Dean
Director, InstrumentalArts Programs
ndeyoe@calarts.edu
661-253-7816
B211

Nicholas Deyoe is a Los Angeles based composer, conductor, and guitarist, and is the Co–Founder of the wasteLAnd ensemble and concert series. His music has been called “intriguingly complex and excitedly lush” by the LA Times. The New York Times wrote that Deyoe’s a... Continue reading »

Emily Evans
Co-Director, Experimental Pop Specialization
eevans@calarts.edu
661-253-7816
B306

Michael Jon Fink
Composition and Experimental Sound Practices
mfink@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2327
B207

Michael Jon Fink’s instrumental and electronic music has been performed at numerous concerts and festivals throughout the United States, Europe and Japan.  He has composed concertos for soprano saxophone, bass clarinet, violin and cello, as well as incidental music for plays by... Continue reading »

Vinny Golia
Performer-Composer
vgolia@calarts.edu
661.253.7816 x2611
B201

Vinny Golia is a composer who fuses the rich heritage of Jazz, contemporary classical and world music into his own unique compositions. As a bandleader, Golia has presented his music to concert audiences in Europe, Canada, Mexico, Japan and the United States in ensembles varying dramatically in... Continue reading »

Laurel Halo
Faculty, School of Music
Composition / Experimental Sound Practices
lhalo@calarts.edu

Laurel Halo (b. 1985, Detroit) is a composer, producer, live musician and DJ. Drawing from a range of stylistic influence, including Detroit techno, musique concrète, film score and jazz, her music employs a careful blend of pressure, decay and nuanced emotion to explore notions of... Continue reading »

Celia Hollander
Faculty, School of Music
Composition / Experimental Sound Practices
chollander@calarts.edu

Celia Hollander is a Los Angeles based composer and artist working with audio, scores, performance, installation and text. Her work critically engages ways that audio and the act of listening can shape temporal perception and question cultural infrastructures. Her work has been performed or... Continue reading »

* Faculty Emeritus
Part-time Faculty
123