Luciana Souza
Faculty, School of Music
Jazz
lsouza@calarts.edu
661-253-7816

Grammy winner Luciana Souza is one of Jazz’s leading singers and interpreters. Born in São Paulo, Brazil, Ms. Souza’s work transcends traditional boundaries around musical styles. 

Continue reading »

Chris Speed
Faculty, School of Music
cspeed@calarts.edu

Chris Speed is a tenor saxophonist, clarinetist and composer described as "a dazzling player of exquisite restraint, intelligence, and range” by the Chicago Reader. Born in Seattle in 1967 he studied at New England Conservatory in Boston (B.A. 1990) before moving to New York City... Continue reading »

Jonathan Stehney
Faculty, School of Music
Instrumental Arts, Bassoon
jstehney@calarts.edu
661-253-7816

JonathanStehneys' expertise ranges from performing Baroque music on period instruments to performing the most challenging contemporary and experimental music. He has traveled widely performing new works for bassoon and contrabassoon. Jonathan has worked with such notable composers as Sofia... Continue reading »

Luke Storm
InstrumentalArts: Tuba
lstorm@calarts.edu
661-253-7816
B322

Luke Storm holds the position of Principal Tuba with the Santa Barbara Symphony and has performed with the Baltimore Symphony, North Carolina Symphony, San Diego Symphony, and the International Contemporary Ensemble, among others. He has recorded with Florence + the Machine and Kamasi Washington... Continue reading »

Volker Straebel
Dean, School of Music
Richard Seaver Distinguished Chair in Music
vstraebel@calarts.edu
661-253-7816
B323E

Volker Straebel is a musicologist, composer, and curator. He grew up in Berlin (West), Germany, and received his M.A. in musicology, philosophy, and library studies from the Technical University of Berlin. After a career in music journalism, Volker served as a curatorial advisor to the annual... Continue reading »

Miroslav Tadic
InstrumentalArts: Guitar
mtadic@calarts.edu
661-253-7816
B226

Guitarist, composer, improviser and educator Miroslav Tadic completed his formal music training in the United States after studying in Italy and his native Yugoslavia.  He has performed and recorded on acoustic and electric guitars in a wide variety of settings and musical styles,... Continue reading »

Emi Tamura
Core Curriculum
etamura@calarts.edu
661-253-7816
B322

Emi Tamura received her Bachelor of Music and Master of Music in Piano Performance from San Francisco State University under the tutelage of Roger Woodward, and studied chamber music with the Alexander String Quartet. She studied solo and collaborative contemporary piano performance with Vicki... Continue reading »

* Faculty Emeritus
Part-time Faculty
First7891011121416